About Cybersquatting and scam email from China Domain Name Registration Center

I own a domain for business and of course that business name can be considered a brand on its own which you must take care of. When you register a domain name you have to pick which domain level to use. Example if it’ll be ending in .com, .org or use country level domain names like .ph (Philippines), .cn (China) etc.

It is impossible to register for all possible domain names. That would be crazy and expensive.

So sometimes someone would cybersquat on a domain name similar to yours but under a different domain level or variation of your name. And these scrupulous individuals would then hold it for ransom and may even threaten to destroy the goodwill you have created by using it to create business for themselves and piggyback on your hard work. Or worst just doing what can be done to destroy your reputation like redirecting the urls to adult sites or competitor websites. A good example of cybersquatting in the Philippines is this article from thebobbery.com

Now aside from the bad cybersquatters there will be the scam domain sellers who will trick you into thinking that someone or a company is trying to register your website similar to your name (they don’t really use the word cybersquat) and they would like to check with you first if you know the individual or company. A good example is an email I received today. Below is the content of that email from Jim of www.ygregistryltd.com

Dear Manager,

(If you are not the person who is in charge of this, please forward this to your CEO,Thanks)

This email is from China domain name registration center, which mainly deal with the domain name registration and dispute internationally in China.

We received an application from Huayuan Ltd on March 10, 2014. They want to register ” aiciamerchandising ” as their Internet Keyword and ” aiciamerchandising .cn “、” aiciamerchandising .com.cn ” 、” aiciamerchandising .net.cn “、” aiciamerchandising .org.cn ” domain names etc.., they are in China domain names. But after checking it, we find “aiciamerchandising ” conflicts with your company. In order to deal with this matter better, so we send you email and confirm whether this company is your distributor or business partner in China or not?

Best Regards,
General Manager
Shanghai Office (Head Office)
3002, Nanhai Building, No. 854 Nandan Road,
Xuhui District, Shanghai 200070, China
Tel: +86 216191 8696
Mobile: +86 1870199 4951
Fax: +86 216191 8697
Web: http://www.ygregistryltd.com

That email went straight to my SPAM folder. And the subject they used was just the word aiciamerchandising which is really not how the subject should be. Because the subject should always reflect the overall gist of the email. So I smell a possibility of scam, which of course prompted me to search with Google. And thankfully I did.

Upon reading the two articles from the first page of the Google search I was convinced that my hunch was right. These are the articles that helped me finalized my decision.

Article 1: Hey! Got an Email from China Domain Name Registration Center, Asian Domain Registration Service In China, The Department Of Registration Service In China etc.?

Article 2: Chinese Domain Name Registration Scams

But still, for courtesy’s sake, I had to reply back to Jim and so I did.

Hi Jim,

No. They are not connected with us. They are not a distributor or dealer for us. We never heard of their company. Chances are they are only buying the domain to cybersquat and piggy back on the goodwill we have started building for our own. If you give them those domains then yes that would most definitely create confusion and it might be best to deny them because they are not connected with us. Hope you understand.

P.S. And yes Jim, I know your email is scam that is why it was in my SPAM folder. And yes Jim, I won’t fall for it. If you do fool someone else with this trap then it’s not me burning in hell but you and your employers. And yes Jim, I will tell as many people as I can about your scamming behavior. Please tell John about that too. Have a good day!

You could have a little bit more fun and pretend you believe them.

Hope this helps someone. If you received an email like this hope you can comment and share the email sent to you so we can at least it can be put on record too. The more the emails of these scammers are posted in the world wide web the better chance we have of educating more people of the different names and companies that are doing these scam activities.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s