Saving to JPEG, PNG and other file formats in Gimp 2.8

I didn’t join the bandwagon of Photoshop users who shell-out money for a picture editing software despite there being another robust software that can do a similar job like Gimp.

I’m used to the Gimp 2.6 interface already on my own laptop but given I have to edit some pictures on another desktop I had to download Gimp first. The latest version is Gimp 2.8 and at first glance it really looks like a nice upgrade. Some of the common functionality I like to use are still where I expect them to be.

However when I was about to save the file I was surprise to see that in the “Save” and “Save As” dialog screen I was only able to see that the allowed file formats are just xcf, bzip and gzip!

So after all the small talk we come now to the real question: In Gimp 2.8 how do I  save to other file formats, especially JPEG/JPG, PNG, TIFF, BMP, etc.

Answer is : Go to File > Export > Select File-type (By Extension)

Viola! So that’s where they are!

 

One thought on “Saving to JPEG, PNG and other file formats in Gimp 2.8

Leave a Reply

