Remove Ask.com being default search in Firefox

For some reason Ask.com has hijacked the Firefox browser installed on my Dad’s computer. I’ve removed the toolbar already but for some pesky reason Ask.com insists on being the home page and  still becomes the default search engine. I’m quite used to the neat feature to allow me to just type in the URL box  any word that I want to know about and it would automatically search for me using my favorite search engine Google.com . But Ask.com has ruined that for me. So now I’m sharing how to remove Ask.com from Firefox.

1) Remove the Ask.com toolbar

  • Open Firefox
  • Click Firefox button on top-left side
  • Click Add-ons
  • Click Extensions
  • Look for Ask.com toolbar and choose remove button
  • Close the Add-on screen and restart Firefox

2) Change the Ask.com home page

  • Open Firefox
  • Click Firefox button on top-left side
  • Click Options
  • Click Generals tab
  • Delete the contents of Hompage and change to http://www.google.com
  • Click Ok and Restart Firefox

3) Change the default search from Ask.com back to Google

  • Open Firefox
  • In the URL box type “about:config” (without the quotations) then click enter
  • There will be a warning message. Read it and click the
    “I’ll be careful, I promise!” button
  • In the Search box do a search on Ask.com
  • Change the following parameters
    • browser.search.defaultengine = Google.com
    • browser.search.defaultenginename = Google.com
    • browser.search.order.1 = Google.com
    • keyword.URL = http://www.google.com/search?q=
  • Type anything in the URL box to test if it works

2 thoughts on “Remove Ask.com being default search in Firefox

  1. Hi! This post could not be written any better!
    Reading through this post reminds me of my good old room mate!
    He always kept talking about this. I will forward this write-up to him.
    Fairly certain he will have a good read. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

