The 2006 Stratmark Champions

This came from an email by Dr. Guttierez :D. The picture is an article scan from today’s edition of Philippine Daily Inquirer.

The University of the Philippines College of Business Administration (UPCBA) students retained the championship in the Philippine Marketing Association’s (PMA) 3rd National Strategic Marketing Competition held at the Araneta Coliseum last 4 August 2006. The team won P100,000 cash prize. Breaking away from tradition, no second or third placers were awarded this year. The UPCBA team won over four other finalists: Ateneo de Manila University, De La Salle University-Taft, Southville Foreign Colleges and the University of Santo Tomas. There were 22 colleges and universities nationwide who joined in the competition. UPCBA is now the champion in two of the three years of the competition.

Two case studies were tackled in the competition. First, all the 22 competing schools prepared a re-entry strategy for Dairy Queen, from which the five best entries were chosen. Second, the five finalists were given two weeks to prepare a strategic marketing plan for Nokia Philippines. Three questions were evaluated by the panel of judges: how to build stronger affinity and loyalty for Nokia among the youth (40%); how to ensure that current Nokia users who are replacing or upgrading their phones continue to buy Nokia and do not switch to other brands (30%); and how can Nokia use the N series sub brand to create further differentiation in the market (30%). In each question, the Board of Judges, led by Sandeep Khanna of Nokia Philippines, evaluated the finalists on their creativity, analytical depth and practicality of ideas and solutions.


The winning team is composed of Christine B. Anacay, Anna Katrina C. Austria, Ma. Anna Lia R. Cabral, Gabriel Emmanuelle D. Laurel, Magdalene Y. Lim, Richard Kristoffer S. Manapat, Katherine Anne E. Ongchangco, Evette Pauleen A. Tan with Prof. Benjamin C. Sandoval as the team manager and Raymund William F. Acedera and Nestor Ryan D. Jeturian as advisers.

The team acknowledges the support of the Gilbert Zuellig Fund for Intercollegiate Competitions and the faculty who gave valuable inputs during the practice sessions namely Dean Erlinda S. Echanis, Dr.Dominador A. Clemente, Jr., Dr. Victoria B. Jardiolin, Dr. Ben Paul B. Gutierrez and Dr. Belen Calingacion (Department of Speech Communication and Theater Arts). A number of student volunteers also provided ample support to the team.

3 thoughts on “The 2006 Stratmark Champions

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s