My Benq is ON

My Benq is ON

[boarding the MRT
sitting on the farthest corner.

putting on the earphones
turning my Benq on.

only one song,
and it starts…]

I

“Fly me to the moon
and let me play among the stars”

[grinning stupidly]

presence of a smile
but absence of a reason
focused to a melody
and deaf from the world

II

“Let me see what spring is like
On Jupiter and Mars”

[thunder and lightning]

numbed with blankness
as vision turn gray
not a flash of memory
just stared in space

III

“In other words hold my hand
in other words darling kiss me”

[head falling on stranger’s shoulder]

lulled to sleep
in such gentle song
rested the eyes
forgotting disgrace

[instrumental]

IV

“Fill my heart with song
And let me sing forever more”

[‘almost there’]

yawned with a mix
of boredom and exhaustion
went back to staring
stillness unwavering

V

“You are all I long for
All I worship and adore”

[getting down the train]

walked amidst chaos
quite serene within
unmindful of others
and still with a grin

VI

“In other words please be true
In other words… I love you”

[at home in bed]

the day has ended
though not the best
there’s still tomorrow
it’s time to rest

VII

[Zzz…]

The End

Note:
Benq is a brand of mp3 player given to me as a gift.
MRT means Metro Rail Transit
The song’s title is “Fly me to the Moon” from the anime Neon Genesis Evangelion

One thought on “My Benq is ON

Leave a Reply

