Creating a GRUB boot floppy

The combo drive of my Asus Degatto (D1 series) laptop broke down. It is still detected but it cannot read any type of CD at all. That was fine but then my grub bootloader (I have dual boot of Suse 10.0 and Windows XP) suddeny failed. Now if I only have a cd drive this scenario would not have gotten to me for I have my trusty customized boot cd (made by master dynahealcerebro) that just works magic in this type of situation. But since I don’t have one at the moment, the floppy drive just have to suffice. What I plan to do is to boot grub on a floppy disk. Here is the instruction how to do it.

To create a GRUB boot floppy, you need to take the files stage1 and stage2 from the image directory, and write them to the first and the second block of the floppy disk, respectively.

Caution: This procedure will destroy any data currently stored on the floppy.

On a UNIX-like operating system, that is done with the following commands:

# cd /usr/lib/grub/i386-pc
     # dd if=stage1 of=/dev/fd0 bs=512 count=1
     1+0 records in
     1+0 records out
     # dd if=stage2 of=/dev/fd0 bs=512 seek=1
     153+1 records in
     153+1 records out
     #

The device file name may be different. Consult the manual for your OS.

0 thoughts on “Creating a GRUB boot floppy

Leave a Reply

