Remove green lines in VLC

I am catching up on Naruto Shippuden episodes when I immediately noticed that VLC, the best open source media player IMHO,  is showing green lines on the top portion of the screen. I thought I was was just using an out-dated version of VLC, maybe the fansubs are using newer kinds of codecs. But even when I downloaded the latest version it was still there!

After tinkering with the configurations here is how to adjust the settings and finally get rid of the annoying green lines.

Tools menu –> Preferences –> Video –> Choose OpenGL under Output options –> Restart VLC

Now, I can enjoy watching Naruto Shippuden again.

34 Responses to “Remove green lines in VLC”

  1. saelee84 Says:

    Thanks a lot it really helped me out. I thought it was a bad rip, but now since doing what you advised, no more green lines. Thanks again.

  2. Rio Says:

    thanks it really helped.

  3. sandy sideburnd Says:

    i have set to Opengl but now the screen is all blue?

    Any other ideas?

    Thanks in advance

  4. John K Says:

    Many thanks-
    this was becoming a real pain for me on my laptop after i reformatted it and added VLC again

  5. satheeshkanna. Says:

    thank u my friend thanks alot 4 ur help thank uuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu

  6. Rozz Says:

    Amazing Dude! Thanks,

  7. makson1 Says:

    Wow, as simple as that?. It has worked for me. Lots of thanks..

  8. rishi Says:

    awesome budddy thnxxx a lot man thnxxx love youuuu

  9. harry Says:

    Searched the internet for ages for that fix, it was really annoying trying to watch movies with that little green line flashing on the bottom right corner. This fixed the problem in a matter of seconds.

    Thank you.

  10. Somewhere Says:

    Amazing.. Did the trick.. I had alternating dashed blue and green lines in one movie and doing as suggested the movie is cleared right up after restarting VLC.

  11. Frustrateduser no more Says:

    Thanks Man !!! It happened to me just recently when updating to 2.0.1 , so it is still happening without user intervention but only uninstalling and updating , thanks for aleviate my frustration !

  12. Chute Says:

    That did it. Thanks!!!

  13. Super Smith Says:

    It got rid of the think screen line in the middle of the screen, and the chopped thick line at the bottom, but now there’s a very very thin green line on the bottom and the right. Directx option makes it normal for me.

  14. Jazmine Says:

    thankyou so much .. It worked like magic.. So simple.. I was so pissed out coz of this problem.. Now I can enjoy ma movies… Thankx man!! U are a life saver!!

  15. vlc makes my game Says:

    thank you! i love you!

  16. amar420 Says:

    many thanks

  17. drezzy Says:

    thank you so fucking much man .. . you havve no idea how much you helped me

  18. sebastian Says:

    YOU ARE THE B E S T , MAN !!!!!!!!!
    THANKS!

  19. Lacey Says:

    Thank you, worked for me! Got rid of the thick green line going through middle of screen. I appreciate you taking the time to post your discovery here… saved me time and headache!

  20. Ahmed Says:

    great brother it realy helped God help u in good deeds

  21. Margaret Says:

    Worked for me – thank YOU very much :-)

  22. Gidjj Says:

    Appreciate this blog, fixed up my vlc green line problem, you guys are great for helping assist we people out there who are not all the IT literate. Kindly received and may all good things come you way. Cheers Gidjj

  23. salome' Says:

    thank you so much it really helped me

  24. jack Says:

    yes its working good…………..

  25. max Says:

    Thanks for the info. I can now watch without those annoying lines.

  26. Abhay Kumar Says:

    u r really amazing man ………great help thanksssss……keep rocking

  27. Matti Erikkilä Says:

    Oh maaan I’ve had these purple lines on the top and bottom of .srt subtitles for ages and this solved my issue. It’s been super annoying, so thanks a bunch!

  28. Axl Says:

    Thank you so much!! You saved me! :)

  29. Ty Ramsey Says:

    Thanks heaps, yous da man!!! :D

  30. Jayce Says:

    ~ Your the best !!! Cheers …

  31. Saurabh Says:

    thankxx..:)

  32. Anand Says:

    awesome man!!

  33. zel Says:

    it crashes my vlc!!!!!

  34. royalflare Says:

    @zel
    I’m sorry to hear that the fix didn’t work for you. If VLC crashes when opening after the change it might be best to uninstall VLC and intall it again.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

